marker and string mutation?

Issues related to VMProtect
tryvmp

marker and string mutation?

Post by tryvmp »

so im quite new to VMP.

i tried to pack one of the example.exe (vc++) using vmp demo.

it uses VMProtectBegin macro for mutating the entire callback which also includes 4 strings.
and on top of that it also uses VMProtectDecryptStringA to mutate the strings

so is there any difference if you only check mark the VMProtectBegin for compiling
or we need to check mark the strings included in VMProtectDecryptStringA as well when compile

because the region for VMProtectBegin already included these strings
Admin
Site Admin

Re: marker and string mutation?

Post by Admin »

In your case VMProtectBegin has string references but does not include these strings in protection automatically. In other words: if you want to protect these string - you need include these strings into project (object list for protection).
tryvmp

Post by tryvmp »

so wait. are you saying any strings included in the VMProtectBegin marker isn't encrypted?

i need to use VMProtectDecryptStringA for any string i want to protect?

and is there any performance difference for encrypting string using mutation and virutalization.

here is a SS of what i mean

see VMProtectBegin actually included those strings
so i need to check on strings seperately if i wanna encrypt those?
Admin
Site Admin

Post by Admin »

In the folders of VMProtectMarker "Test marker" you see ONLY information (calls, string references, import referenses etc) of this marker but this does not mean that all these "objects", for which there are references of this marker, will be automatically protected. There is only one rule - will protect only those objects that are included in the list for protection.
tryvmp

Post by tryvmp »

ok tx i think i got it :)

last question if you don't mind
is there any performance difference for encrypting string using mutation and virutalization?