Page 1 of 1

"Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:24 pm
by DigitalLife
Hello there

I have an Electronjs based application, the app is not able to load the extension, after I add some files (belong to one extension) to "Files".

Open the original EXE, it can load the extension successfully, as you can see the icon in top-right corner.
vmp1.png
vmp1.png (6.08 KiB) Viewed 2263 times


But after I add some file into "Files", the application is not able to load the extension.
vmp2.png
vmp2.png (22.66 KiB) Viewed 2263 times


I have upload the application including the VMP config file here:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/apn3w7mx0hfk0qj/win-unpacked.zip/file

Everything is in the ZIP file:
1. You can find the vmp config file: Wexond.exe.vmp
2. Folder Extension contains the files of one extension
3. Wexond.exe is the original EXE
4. Wexond.vmp.exe is the VMP protected EXE

I tried to add all files in the Extension folder, it's not working as well.
I'm using VMProtect Ultimate v3.5.1 build 1332, under windows 10.

Let me know if you need more information.

Thanks

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:22 am
by Admin
I see that you added only "action.html" into VMP file:

Code: Select all

        <DLL Name="action.html" FileName="Extension/action.html" Folder="0" />

Is it enough?

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 11:01 am
by DigitalLife
Admin wrote:I see that you added only "action.html" into VMP file:

Code: Select all

        <DLL Name="action.html" FileName="Extension/action.html" Folder="0" />

Is it enough?


Thanks for your reply.
So if I want to add some files in one folder, I have to add all files in that folder (even though I only want to protect one of those files), is this right?

And actually as I mentioned in the post: I tried to add all files in the Extension folder, it's not working as well.

I have attached the new vmp config file along with the new Extension folder (I have deleted a few useless txt files).
Everything else keeps same as the original zip file.
Now there are 86 files in the Extension folder, I have added all of them into the "Files".
But the issue still exists, would you please check again? Did I miss anything else?

Thanks
DigitalLife

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 12:36 pm
by Admin
Please try the 1343 build.

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:21 pm
by DigitalLife
Admin wrote:Please try the 1343 build.


Thanks for your quick turnaround.
It works now :D .

BTW, I would suggest to support adding files into "Files" in batch; allow to chose a folder and all files in that folder will be added for example.
Just a suggestion

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:48 pm
by DigitalLife
One update, if you set "Pack the Output File" to "Yes", the final output file is not working, black screen for some time then keep in white screen (I have waited for 5 minutes).
It works well when setting to "No".

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2021 8:59 am
by Admin
It seems your application has problems inside synchronization with created processes, because the unpacking takes time while the packed application is starting

Re: "Files" feature is not working for my case

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2021 9:57 pm
by DigitalLife
Admin wrote:It seems your application has problems inside synchronization with created processes, because the unpacking takes time while the packed application is starting


Thanks, will look into it.